Posted by: Adrienne | November 6, 2010

Still shopping…

Well to day I was hoping to be able to post a really cool shot of my NEW (to me at least) car!  Exciting!  But, as you can see from the title, this was not to be.  I believe I have spent over ten solid hours in the interwebz doing searches, refining searches, printing out canidates and in general, shopping.

The really, really exciting part is that I got the loan pre-aproved!  After some youthful indescretions with credit, some medical bills, and then falling behind in general, I had gotten my credit royally screwed up.  I’ve spent the last several years getting it cleaned up.  My ’93 Acura Integra, supposed to last me for two years, has been stretched to five.  And the last two have been a struggle to keep it running.  When it started overheating again I finally had it checked since I wasn’t able to get it to cool down even with fluids.  Yep, blown head gasket and ruptured trannie line.   That was the capper, the nail in the coffin for my little Integra.   I’m really going to miss having a sporty little car, but my vehicular needs are a bit different now.

Where was I?  Oh yes, credit!  Last year when the radiator blew up and I thought I would have to replace the car I went in search of some way to get a loan.  No dice, still had the negatives on my credit.  This time I knew I had the negatives off, but I haven’t had time to re-establish anything.  Sure enough, when I went to the bank I got “Insufficient credit”.  I was not amused.  Banking is no longer based on the person in front of you.  The fact that I have been with the bank for three years and had worked with the bankers that whole time getting my finances in better shape had absolutely zero bearing on their decision. 

Luckily someone suggested a local credit union.  I got an appointment, was told to bring all sorts of paperwork.  I almost didn’t go.  I was so scared of going over all my financials and still being rejected.  I didn’t think I could deal with it.  But I went anyways.  And found a bank that actually deals in people!  They looked at what I had, heard what I had been doing, heard my business plans and within thirty minutes I was approved for a car loan!  I almost cried. 

I barely slept last night, I was so excited.  It was the night before Christmas feeling!  Of course it didn’t help today that I was so bleary eyed.  And I struck out on every car I looked at. <sigh>  The rest of the day was hours more searching of the interwebz.  Hopefully my next canidates will pan out better.  We’ll know Monday!

Leave a Reply

Categories

